Saturday, December 19, 2015

Suspicious Ways by Lexxie Couper

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I've got to say this story was a bit different than what I'm used to from Lexxie, but I really loved it! I think all the characters were exceedingly well developed and the plot was suspenseful as well as steamy too! You could feel the heat sizzling between Ali and Jackson when they were together, and boy was it was intense. They tried to resist one another, both having some major hangups where their relationship was concerned, but you just can't fight chemistry like that and these two definitely belong together. You don't want to miss out on this one, guys. It was full of Lexxie's trademark sexual tension that I just adore, plenty of suspense to keep you on your toes, and best of all it was a great romance with characters you are just going to love!

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Lexxie, please head over to her website.


 

Amazon  ~ Barnes & Noble

 

4-Ever Theirs (Four to Score) by Jayne Rylon

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

4-Ever Theirs was an enjoyable read, but I also wasn't blown away by it either. The plot was simple, but I also felt like it was far too short too. I think there was plenty there plot wise to make this book longer, and by making it longer it would have better paced the non-stop sex that seemed to be going on. I mean I like sex in books just fine, and Jayne writes some very sexy scenes, but I also think these characters had a deep connection between them that I wanted to see explored more. I wanted to see dynamics between the four of them together, rather than the majority of the book being spent on just Andi and each of the guys individually. Once they all get together there at the end, it is rushed through and it just left me feeling like it was incomplete. So it isn't that I didn't like the story, but I just wanted more and I was left feeling dissatisfied. I'm greedy like that I guess. :)

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Jayne, please head over to her website.

 
 

The Fix Up (First Impressions) by Tawna Fenske

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Tawna Fenske is a new to me author, but I'd rank her up there with Alice Clayton or Emma Chase in the romantic comedy genre, because I loved her writing style. To put it really quite simply, this book was absolutely adorable. I just loved everything about it. The characters are well developed, the plot was great, and it was a real pleasure to read. Who doesn't love a sassy, smart, and sophisticated heroine all the while having a hero who is the epitome of geeky sexiness that borders on being a wreck. Holly definitely had her work cut out for her when she takes on the job of fixing Ben's image, but I think it was endearingly sweet how she didn't want him to change too much either and loved the real him more than the image he was trying to project. I laughed so often reading this book, and I cannot wait to read more from Tawna in the future. I can't suggest this one highly enough, guys, so definitely give this one a read and I promise you will love it just as much as I did!

I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Tawna, please head over to her website.


A Bad Boy for Christmas (Jackson Brothers #3)

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

This one came as quit a surprise to me. Kelly Hunter is a new to me author, and I really enjoyed reading A Bad Boy for Christmas. I don't know what I would do if I were the Jackson brothers finding out that my father had a son they all never knew about, even the father. Tension was definitely high throughout most of the book with a tad bit of suspense and drama thrown in the mix, but the romance budding between Cutter and Mia was undeniable from the moment these two meet. Things between them are tense at first and they of course try to steer clear of one another, but chemistry like that can't be ignored for long before it explodes. I've got to say, I really enjoyed reading this one. It was a short, sweet, and suspenseful book that definitely left me craving more of this series so I can read about the other brothers and how they fell in love. I also would love to read a story for Nash too, so I hope that happens as well. :)

I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

If you'd like to check out more about this series or other books by Kelly, please head over to her website.

 
 

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Dirty Promises (Dirty Angels, #3) by Karina Halle

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I really had no words after reading this one to describe how good it was. It was so incredibly brutal, but yet in the end beautiful in its own way too. No question about it, Javier is evil so going into this book you know it isn't going to be a sweet romance story. I think Karina even surprised me with just how bad he could be, but in the end you still find yourself rooting for him. I still can't figure out why that is, because I've always been so firmly set on liking the good guys. I guess in this book what it boiled down to was the lesser of two evils, and boy oh boy was Esteban pure evil.

Dirty Promises is one hell of a roller coaster ride with plenty of suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat. It's going to make you question just how much you can handle, but then it throw you right past that point giving you far more than you ever thought you could. It's intense and wild and sexy and just sooo much more. You cannot read this as a stand-alone, so I highly suggest you read all of the Dirty Angels books before you even attempt to read this. Better yet, read the Artist series before that too, because it will truly give you a bigger picture on Jaiver's character.  I've loved this series so much and I'm sad that this is the end, but I think Javier deserves to just rule his empire in what little peace he can find in his line of work.

Karina...once again you amazed me with your incredible talent. You are so mind-fuckingly brilliant I just can't handle it sometimes, so keep up the wonderful work! lol

If you'd like to check out more about this series or other books by Karina, please head over to her website.


Tuesday, December 8, 2015

A Whisper of Desire (The Disgraced Lords #4) by Bronwen Evans

Reviewed by Tabatha   ✰✰✰✰

 

I've been contemplating this review for a bit, because while I loved this book I did have some issues with the way it ended. Bronwen Evans writes amazing historical romance with so much mystery and intrigue you can't help but get sucked into the story. I simply love everything I've read, and each of these Disgraced Lords books has kept me hanging on for the next book to see what is going to happen next.

So I bet you are wondering why I said that I had issues with the ending. Well, I'm not going to tell you simply because it would ruin the book for you, and I'm not about to do that to anyone. Let's just say that something happens that not only made my heart ache as if it had been beaten to a pulp, but I even ugly cried. I hate ugly crying!!!  It probably had more to do with me on a personal front, but I just felt doing that to the characters wasn't necessary and it kind of ruined the book for me there at the end. BUT...and I say a big BUT because leading up to that this book was everything that I've come to love from Evans writing, and I do still highly suggest it. The romance between Marisa and Maitland was just  a thing of beauty when they were together. He struggled in vain to keep her at a distance hurting Marisa emotionally, but once he gives in it is truly beautiful.

I'm just dying to get my hands on the next book, because something major is about to go down! If you love historical romance, I promise you can't go wrong with Bronwen Evans so definitely give the Disgraced Lords series a read.


Reviewed by Kim   ✰✰✰✰✰

 

I am never disappointed by this author or this series. The Disgraced Lords series combines mystery, intrigue, romance, and history bring it all together in wonderful and thrilling story. In the beginning, I wasn't sure I was going to like Marissa. She seemed to be a beautiful but spoiled young woman, but the story progressed she becomes a very caring and compassionate woman. Maitland was just an amazing character. The control that he imposed on himself as punishment for his fathers behavior was heartbreaking and commendable. This is the kind of character that makes you want to take him and make everything better for him. These two unlikely characters are a perfect match all the way through. The strength and brilliance of the writing and prose shine through with all the twists and turns of a real page turner.  

*Review copies were received from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for our honest review.*



 

Some Girls Lie (Outback Heat, #4) by Amy Andrews

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I guess I'm coming in on the end of the series, but this one can definitely be read as a stand-alone because I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything other than getting to know some of the secondary characters more. After reading Some Girls Lie though, I'm definitely going to be going back and reading all the rest of this series for sure. My heart hurt so much for JJ being in loving a man who not only was her best friend, but who also couldn't even manage to see her as a woman. She was always just his rock steady friend when she wanted so much more. But we all know guys are dense, so it wasn't really a shock. I think what it boiled down more to was that he just didn't want to ever lose that relationship with JJ that he held so dear, so he never thought of her in that way.

I loved the Aussie Outback setting. I just adore books set in Australia, so it was a big highlight for me. When these two embark on their charade, they really aren't fooling anyone but themselves. They all know that the only person who is really going to get hurt in the end, is JJ. I mean Ethan is a great guy and all, but he has so many hangups that I found it hard to believe his about face with JJ. I think too much focus in the book was on his not being able to love that when he finally admits to being in love with her, it just didn't seem real. Aside from that, I really enjoyed this book and like I said I want to read it from the start so I get more time with all of these awesome characters. It was a fun read and I definitely suggest it.

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*


Calling the Play (Birmingham Rebels #2) by Samantha Kane

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Overall I enjoyed reading Calling the Play, but I won't say that I was blown away by it either. Am I the only one that thinks this one just ended really abruptly? I just felt like it ended with no real rhyme or reason giving this book a less than stellar finish. That kind of irritated me, because I thought there was more to the story than that.

Now the sex scenes, whew did those pack that awesome Samantha Kane punch as always. But on the other hand, we were also teased with a few scenes that were never followed through as well. Not nice to tease, Samantha. *tisk tisk* Anyhoo, that was kind of a let down, but the biggest one was the the weak plot and the lack of emotional connection I felt between the characters. Maybe it's just me. *shrug*

I really want to love this series, trust me I do. It has all the right components that I love, but it just isn't working for me the same way Kane's books have in the past. Her Brother's in Arms series is fantastic! Now I think the potential is there though, so I'm definitely not going to be giving up. Like I said, I enjoyed this book but I didn't love it. If you love menage, then you are going to enjoy it too because it is worth reading just for those sex scenes alone. *winks* Now I wonder who is next of the Rebels. Danny and Tim perhaps? Guess I will wait and see!

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

For more information about this series or Samantha's books, please check out her website. 

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

White Hot Christmas: A Heart of Fame Christmas Story by Lexxie Couper

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Oh Nick, I can't even begin to count the ways in which I adore you. In White Hot Christmas, we find Nick waiting in the Sydney airport trying to make his way through customs so he can spend the holidays with Lauren. Unfortunately for him, quite a lot stands in the way of his goal. I just loved the cameo of Curtis in here, and when Nick finally arrives home things get sizzling hot pretty quickly. This was a short and sweet holiday story, and I will always read something that has my favorite rock God in it. :) Seriously, if you guys haven't read the Heart of Fame series, I definitely suggest you do. There is something about this whole crew of rockers that just melts me and I cannot get enough of them!

*I received a review copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this series or other books by Lexxie, please head over to her website.


 

Amazon  ~ Barnes & Noble

Monday, November 2, 2015

Rain Shadow (Bluewater Bay #10) by L.A. Witt

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I just love returning to Bluewater Bay, and LA Witt always makes it such an enjoyable visit too! Rain Shadow was a wonderful addition to this much beloved series, and I just adored Jeremy and Scott!

Being a bodyguard for Anna means Jeremy already has to deal with a lot of drama going on, and things between Anna and her girlfriend Leigh are about to explode. But Jeremy also has his own set of issues as well. His divorce has created a huge divide between him and his kids that seems insurmountable. It is also distracting him from his job when distraction could easily lead to someone getting hurt.

Scott came to Bluewater Bay to escape the pain from when his boyfriend was shot in the line of duty. Now twenty years later, being alone is exactly how he prefers to live his life. Even though his profession as a family counselor helps others work through their relationships, the last thing he wants is to get involved in another relationship himself.

When these two meet by chance on an early morning trip into the wilderness, the sparks are immediate and scorching. Neither one of them want to get into a relationship, and they decide to stick with having amazing sex as often as they can instead. But as the weeks go by, they find that is exactly what they have right before they lose it.

Jeremy and Scott were a great couple once you look beyond all the baggage that they both carry. These two are oh so sexy, and I'm telling you guys they rock it in the bedroom! Whew, were they hot! I also liked that both men were older. Being more experienced means they both have learned the hard way to be okay with who they are and what they want in life. I think that also helped them when it came down to repairing their relationship. Age and wisdom can do wonderful things, and both of them showed that they had a relationship worth fighting for even when they both didn't intend on having one in the fist place. Like I said, this was a great addition to the Bluewater Bay series, and now I can't wait for Anna's story!

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*
 

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by L.A., please head over to her website.

 



Amazon  ~ Barnes & Noble


Rock Me Two Times (Rock Band #1) by Dawn Ryder

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Rock Me Two Times was an overall enjoyable read. I thought the characters were interesting enough, even if I did hate the hero's name and kept replacing it with Simon instead. (Don't ask, it's just something I do) I liked that Kate wasn't a push over when it came to following her rules. But all it took, was one sexy rock star to make her change her mind and all her preconceived notions along the way as well. I don't blame her one bit though. Syon, on the other hand, was a delicious package of dominant, sexy goodness with a head for business that separated him from any other rock star type I've read. Perhaps it was his military background that gave him that extra edge? I don't know, but it worked for me. I also found it too funny that the author compared him to the Goblin King in Labyrinth. Now all I can think of is Syon in Lycra blue pants leaving nothing to the imagination. LOL

Anyhoo, I digress. :)  So what was up with Ramsey? I was all for the three of them getting it on together, and the title even alludes to Kate being rocked twice, so I was so confused by this "connection" the guys had. Kate was uncomfortable with it at first, but just when she was warming up to the idea Syon flips a switch and it is all becomes just him and Kate. I didn't understand it, and I think it would have been far better had that been left out given the lack of follow through. It was pretty easy to figure out who the "bad guy" was in the story making it predictable, but it also didn't deter from the story in any way. I do have one question though.  Why did Kate have to sit out in the crowd anyhow if Syon was worried about her safety all the time? Plenty of people watch from the side of the stage, right? It seemed rather silly is all I'm saying if he was that concerned. So overall, there were a few inconsistencies I noticed throughout the book, but like I said it was overall still an enjoyable read despite a few hangups. Now will I read more about the guys from Toxsin? We'll see...

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

For more information about this series or Dawn's upcoming books, please check out her website.

 
 

Thursday, October 29, 2015

HATE Sex by Billy Storm

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Kim

Wow! This is the first book by Billy Storm and what a way to come out of the gate. 

The characters in this books are so complex, so rich in form and substance that they instantly jump off the page and drag you into their world. The raw emotions and deep seeded ideals that each of the characters have about themselves, and about each other, really comes through with their interactions. There are some pretty freaking hot scenes, but those aren't the focal point of the whole book. The way the characters really feel about themselves is what leads to how they interact with each other, and they are all very damaged. 

I was brought to tears over and over, and just wanted to shake them at times and tell them that they were okay, they were good. The fronts that the characters put on for the world are nothing compared to who they really are, and the exciting part of this book is that we get to see those fronts crumble as they progress in their relationships. It was absolutely beautiful how these truly damaged characters were able to find each other, and really begin healing the pain from the past. I'm not going to spoil anything, but I do hope that we get to see "the other man" in a future book, I would love to see how his story plays out.

 For more information about this series or Billy's upcoming books, please check out her website.


 

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Dangerous (The Finn Factor #3) by R.G. Alexander


✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Kim

 

5 stars is just not enough. There are so many things to love about this book. One of the main reasons I am so drawn to this series as a whole is because of the big role the entire family plays in each book. These books aren't just about two characters hooking up and finding love, they are really about the entire family dynamic. The Finn's are an amazing family with more love to go around than there are Finn's and that's hard to believe, because there are so many of them. 

I was looking forward to Brady's story, because you could just feel how damaged he was. I like how the book touched on the damage and the healing process, but didn't get weighted down by it. The love story stays in the forefront with all this action going on around it. The blending of Ken & Brady, two very damaged souls that are beginning to heal each other, is so well written that it bring out just how special this relationship is. Yes, there is supreme hotness, I mean come on it's the Finn's after all, but that hotness takes a back seat and is almost like the icing on the cake where the relationship between the two and the melding of the family dynamics really takes the front seat. We get to see once again that the Finn's really are the good guys, and they have a habit of drawing other good guys/girls to the fold. I don't think I could ever get bored with this series. The action story line is so fascinating, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Like I said, there are just so many things to love about this book that you will never, ever get bored!!!

And the bonus....O!M!G! I won't spoil it, but be sure to have some tissues before you start it. I am so glad we got to see Owen & Jeremy solidify their already amazing relationship.

For more information about this series or RG's upcoming books, please check out her website. 


Blind: Killer Instincts by Sidney Bristol

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Wow, what a fantastic read that was! This was my first book by Sidney Bristol, and I can guarantee you I will be devouring her backlist as soon as I can. Blind was filled with fast-paced suspense, thrilling moments, and best of all steamy romance that will keep you glued to the pages. The balance of all of it all was really quite perfect, and I found myself unable to put the book down start to finish. Yep that’s right, I read this baby in one sitting because it was just THAT good.

I’ve got to say, I just adored Jacob and Emma. Not only were they perfectly developed characters, but they also had such an intense connection you could feel it coming off the pages. Despite both being brought together by a shared past and both being very different people, you can see quite clearly that there is so much more going on between them even when they both try to resist it. The best part was that they could be themselves with one another, and boy did that translate well in the bedroom. *fans self* It was pretty darn hot! They’ve both come from so much darkness in their lives, but together they see a light they never thought possible just as a killer turns his focus on the two of them.

As a whole, Blind seamlessly weaves passion and suspense in a way that will keep a reader hooked. The plot is complex, and never once did I expect what was going to happen in the story. I really hope Sidney continues and makes this into a series, because if she continues on as strong as she came out with this one, it is going to be a series you won’t want to miss out on! I can’t highly recommend this one enough, guys, so I hope you’ll give it a try. And Sidney…I need that next book asap!


Reviewed by Kim


Blind is an amazing blend of thriller, suspense, mystery with a bit of romance thrown in there that not only keeps you on the edge of your seat, but will have you jumping at every twist and turn. The characters were just fantastic. They were so well written that you aren't left with questions or wonderings about how they woulda/shoulda/coulda handled the situations that took place in the book. I never found myself thinking "Oh, I thought he/she would do this instead," because you KNEW who they were and never once doubted the reality of their actions. The pace of the book was perfect for the genre, it's like the author knew when you would need a breather before the next action started up. I don't know if this is part of a series to come but I would absolutely love to read more by Sidney Bristol in this genre. She's a natural crime, thriller writer in league with the best!

*We received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for our honest review.* 

For more information about this series or Sidney's upcoming books, please check out her website. 


Mine (Club Sin #7) by Stacey Kennedy

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Kim

 

I need more than 5 stars to show my love for this book and this series!

I am so glad that if the series had to end, that it ended like this. The first book and the last are now my very favorite books in this series. While I'm heartbroken that the series is ending I am so glad that it ended on this note. This book and the entire series is so well written. Even though their lives intersect and Club Sin and it bring all the characters together, that is not what the book is about. It's so beautiful to see the growth of both of the characters, their strength and their love. That love is what shines through in each and every moment of this book. The lives of all of these people are so intertwined. I love the friendships that have developed among both the men and the women, it really just couldn't get any better and the ending.....beautiful perfection!

*A review copy was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.*

For more information about this series or Stacey's upcoming books, please check out her website. 


 

 

Monday, October 26, 2015

Exhibition: Unchained Vice by Nicolette Hugo

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I’ve got to say Exhibition definitely surprised me in the most fascinating way. It was a passionate and provocative tale where pain and pleasure blur into something quite incredible and breathtaking.

“That was the beauty of pain—if you learned to live with it, you could feed off it.”

Jason and Grace embark on a limitless journey into their deepest desires, but each of them struggle with their own personal issues. Jason maintains control in all he does due to past experiences that have led him to believe that his beast will scare away anyone he comes to love. Grace, on the other hand, is holding back some major personal demons that cripple her ability to truly submit to Jason. Her issues combined with no limits can not only hurt her, but Jason as well. But I think the biggest issue these two face is the lack of communication between them. It will impede them in the most detrimental of ways.

“What was supposed to be a study of her pleasure was becoming a study of her shame.”

Now as beautiful as this story was, I will caution that this book isn’t going to be for your average light BDSM reader. It does have some rather extreme fetish practices in it, but I promise if you can handle it you are going to love it. I’ve read my fair share of BDSM romances, but this one explored the topic in ways that were very different for me to read. Not only was Exhibition extraordinarily sexy, I think Hugo was able to flawlessly weave a remarkable love story for us that held me captivated from the first page. This is exactly what I look for when I read and erotic BDSM story. It was sensual without being salacious, and I definitely recommend it.

“The only truth that matters is I love you. I can’t put a limit on that.”

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*
 

For more information about this series or Nicolette's upcoming books, please check out her website.


Claim Me, Cowboy (2015 Montana Born Rodeo) by Charlene Sands

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

First off...I LOVE this cover!!!  We all know I’m a sucker for any kind of rodeo cowboy and to throw in a second-chance romance into the mix, well let’s just say that I thought this book was going to be a slam dunk for me. While I liked the characters and how everything seemed to play out just like a Lifetime movie, I’m at a loss as to figure out what it was about this story that just didn’t sit right with me. The only thing I can come up with is that overall the story seemed to be kind of clichéd and predictable. Some aspects we get tied up with a nice little bow, but then others weren’t resolved nearly enough to my liking. There was also something about the emotional connection between Tyler and Summer that just seemed off to me. Summer had absolutely no right to feel abandoned by Ty when she knew he always wanted to go, and it was her that proved she didn’t love him enough to support his decision. I don't blame Tyler at all for how he felt, and he was totally justified in his anger.

Anyhoo…it’s not that I disliked this book, because in all honesty I did find it enjoyable. There were just a few things that didn’t sit right with me is all.  I loved how those around the town supported Ty, and Ty himself was a great character. His relationship with his daughter was adorable, and I liked how he had a softer side when it came to the women in his life. I wanted to like Summer more than I did, but I think the fact that she was unfair to Tyler most of the time gave me a sour taste for her. The only way she redeemed herself with me was how she was with Becca. Her losses with Lee made me feel for her and they could have made her bitter, but I respected that she accepted Becca in the way she did.

Claim Me, Cowboy was a sweet and endearing read overall, and it was definitely fun to read. I'd like to see where Jeff goes with the rodeo,and I would definitely enjoy a trip back to Marietta, Montana in the future for sure.

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

For more information about this series or Charlene's upcoming books, please check out her website.

 
 

Friday, October 16, 2015

Threefold (Threefold #1-3) by Sotia Lazu


✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

So I was pleasantly surprised by just how much I loved each of these characters. They all had their flaws, sure, but the dynamics between them all were pretty great and I enjoyed the humor and banter between the them. I also liked that the focus wasn't just on Becca, but also the change in the relationship from friends to lovers between Colin and Brad.  I think where I had the most issue was that so much time was spent during the story with the characters going back and fourth leading up to the three of them getting together, that once it happens it is rushed and left feeling incomplete. We also had a few unresolved issues I would have liked to see come to a more satisfactory conclusion, but overall I think the biggest disappointment for me was that we don't get to explore the connection between Colin and Brad more. The story did, however, pack plenty of heat and boy did it have a TON of angst. This was definitely a dramatic read, but I think with a few tweaks to expand the ending that this could have been a smash hit for me.

*I received a review copy in exchange for my honest review provided via NetGalley by the publisher/author.*

For more information about this series or Sotia's upcoming books, please check out her website.

 
 

Monday, October 5, 2015

Unforgettable (Always #2) by Cherie M. Hudson

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I have been contemplating my review of Unforgettable for a while now, because I feel it deserves a fantastic review and I was having a hard time finding the right words to express how much I loved reading it. Let me start by telling you it made my top 10 books I've ever read…and I do mean ever. I find it is so rare for a book to be able to evoke so much emotion out of me, but somehow Cherie was able to craft a heart wrenching story while still maintaining the romantic elements between couple despite the overwhelming situation they find themselves facing.

It was incredibly realistic, and Hudson’s approach to just how unfair life can be took my breath away. The emphasis on how we react and support one another to help guide our way through the darkness to see the light is overwhelming to say the very least. This book took an incredible amount of talent, and Cherie accomplishes it absolutely flawlessly. I’m telling you guys, she is definitely an author you don't want to miss out on. I shed so many tears while reading this story, but I also smiled just as often as I cried. It was truly remarkable in every way. Unforgettable is exactly as the title suggests…It is an Unforgettable journey for this couple in both the best and worst ways, and you will find yourself thinking about it days, weeks, even months after you read it because it undoubtedly just that special.

*I received a review copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.*

For more information about this series or Cherie's upcoming books, please check out her website.

http://cheriemhudson.wordpress.com/

Amazon  ~ Barnes & Noble


 

Monday, September 7, 2015

Something Sparked (Sparks in Texas #3) by Mari Carr


✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

What a sexy, short read this turned out to be! I haven't read any of the previous books in the Sparks in Texas series, but you can be sure that I'm going to remedy that real soon. I just love Mari's books, and this one is another great example of how she can write a steamy but yet adorably sweet books.

Jeannette has a deep secret she is hiding from everyone, especially her family, that has crippled her ability to engage in relationships. Despite this, Luc and Diego are on a mission 2 years in the making to make her theirs. These guys...seriously I have no words for how sweet they were while taking their time with Jeannette all while trying to help her reclaim her life. They were quite wonderful, and I just loved them to pieces. Jeannette, on the other hand, stole the show for me. She is such a strong character, and you can't help but admire her inner strength and determination to overcome her past. I loved the bit of suspense we get with the book as well, so overall it was a great read that I'm definitely going to suggest to you all.  

If you'd like to check out more about this series or other books by Mari, please head over to her website.

 

 

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble 



Wicked Lies (Men of Summer #2) by Lora Leigh

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

So I’ve been waiting for this book for what seems like forever. The first book in this series, Loving Lies, released back in 2006 and it has been a long time coming to get this next book. Now I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t exactly been overly fond of Leigh’s more recent releases. That being said though, Wicked Lies was exactly what I’ve come to expect from her books and I really enjoyed it. She follows her typical pattern, but I love how she writes amazing Alpha males with feisty heroines that challenge them every step of the way. 

Wicked Lies had the perfect amount of mystery, suspense, and sexual tensions between the two main characters. Seriously…it was sizzling hot. Jazz and Kenni were perfectly matched, and I loved how he had built his life in the way that Kenni had always dreamed for them. I'm not going to say anymore so I don't give details away, but it was really good overall aside from a few cheesy lines and some rather glaring inconsistencies. Now while this series does feel kind of reminiscent of the Nauti series, I find myself loving it regardless and I want stories for all of the secondary men as well. I'm looking forward to reading the next book.

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Lora, please head over to her website.

 
 

Thursday, September 3, 2015

Deeper In Sin (The Wicked Dukes #2) by Sharon Page

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I've got to hand it to Sharon Page. Her books are always well-plotted and the intrigue is masterful all while still maintaining the romance elements of the story. I had several notes to myself saying "well I didn't see that coming," and that really seems to be a rarity for me these days. Now although this is a typical Page story, the romance seems to take the backseat to the mystery in this one given Caradon's intimacy issues. I felt for the guy, I really did, but the back and fourth between these two gave me whiplash. First he wanted a mistress...then he didn't...then he did but just not her...then he wanted her but not sex with her. You see what I'm talking about? I will admit that it was irksome at times, but I also understood how conflicted Cary was too.

Now despite there being very little actual sex between them going on for the majority of the book, these two did manage to still steam up the pages in their own way. I was quite impressed with Cary's ingenuity in the bedroom, and I loved that they were both passionate equals. Unfortunately, he had quite a bit to get over emotionally to make their relationship work, but you could feel the attraction and love growing between them as well.

"But you're unhappy, and I wanted to heal you."

Although I loved both of these characters, I have to admit that I didn't love them equally. Somehow Sophie managed to steal the show for me with her calm acceptance and generally positive outlook in all things. She strived to figure out the best course of action in any situation, and rarely did she take no for an answer. It was quite admirable, so I adored her even when she was being naïve. I think these two were so passionate because Sophie allowed Cary to be the man he wanted so desperately to be for her.

"You helped me face my demons, love. You never judged me. You never condemned me. Even when you were dragged into danger, because of me, you only wanted to help me."

I was overly pleased with Deeper in Sin. It had a great balance of mystery and romance that kept me hooked from page one. I eagerly anticipate the other Wicked Dukes falling into the clutches of love, and I'm especially excited for Sin's book because I just know it is going to be devilishly delicious given his penchant for outlandish parties.

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Sharon, please head over to her website.



Amazon  ~ Barnes & Noble

The Arrangement by Nicolette Hugo

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I really felt like this read more like a diary than a novel with how fragmented it was. I found myself constantly saying "show me don't tell me," and the story overall lacked any real emotion between the characters. We are told how she feels, but not shown what made her feel this way. How are we to believe that they fell in love over the course of these six months when we miss out on key relationship building moments? We barely even skim the surface of their relationship. It starts out with Nell about to sign her first contract with Vincent for six months, but then it skips all the way to month six in the first chapter. Unfortunately, that's a huge chunk of their relationship building we don't get to see. Now I'm not saying we need a daily play by play or anything, but it would have been nice to watch the slow build of their relationship instead of just being told that Nell is in love with him after five months.

""Give up control and trust you.' The devil makes it sound so reasonable."

Given that we don't see much in the way of their relationship actually building, it made the story seem very surface level when the characters are more complex than that. I thought they were both interesting, so I think a dual point of view would have helped make this better. Maybe the lack of connection between the characters was intentional by the author given Vincent's edict that things stick strictly to the agreement, but we as the readers like to hear what isn't being said by both characters with internal dialogue.

"When there is no pleasure for me...when he gives pain just for him...that's when I steal my pleasure from him. I have my own darkness."

Now I'm not saying this book was bad. I was just frustrated a lot of the time, because I felt like I was missing key parts I felt were necessary. Like I said, I liked both characters and the bits we get of their intimate times together were incredibly hot. That breath play scene was...intense and I loved it. It made me want to see more complete scenes with them than the fragmented ones we got. Overall, I'd say that this story has real potential. I wanted it to be longer, but I really wanted it to be from both points of view so we understand more about their relationship. The characters were complex, and they have an intensity in the bedroom that I found intriguing. I'm definitely going to give Nicolette another try in the future.

"I like his simple commands, submitting to them is easy, free from the struggle between the desire for his domination and the guilt of wanting it."


*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this series or other books by Nicolette, please head over to her website.

 

 

 


Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Switching it On: A Love Story (Stimulated Book 3) by Lexxie Couper

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Mike and Lena have been separated for 7 months after 5 blissful and happy years of marriage. It is clear and undeniable these two are still very much in love, but moving past the hurt of betrayal on both their sides is proving to be very difficult. Mike feels he is being falsely accused of cheating, meanwhile Lena has some pretty incriminating evidence to support her claims to the contrary. What these two both don't realize, is that someone is playing them for their own personal gain.

Now when these two come together for one passionate night of reconnecting, it's almost like an explosion of love and lust. Seriously, the intensity of the connection makes it so obvious that they deeply love one another. The makeup sex is off the charts hot, but I loved that there is still some residual conflict that sexual compatibility in bedroom just can't fix.

Overall, I loved this reunion of lovers story. I had a hard time choosing sides, because I truly believed that love would prevail in the end for these two. You could tell from page one that the connection between them was still very much there, so I'm happy they were able to make things work for them in the end. On another note, OMG do I want Mike's sister RG's story. She nearly stole the show for me, because I think she is one character I can really connect with just from what I saw in this story. Lexxie is the queen of short and sexy stories, so I hope to see RG's story soon!

*I received a review copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this series or other books by Lexxie, please head over to her website.


 

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble 

 

Sunday, August 30, 2015

Bound with Honor (Regency Reimagined, #4) by Megan Mulry

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I'm not going to lie, the whole idea of this book really appealed to me after reading the blurb, and the cover was definitely intriguing. Two guys in a loose relationship of sorts and two women in a solid relationship, but somehow it all comes together? Sign me up, because that sounds like fantastic conflict! Bound with Honor totally lived up to all of my expectations in a big way, and I'm going to encourage you guys to give it a try. Love is love, and these four express it in a beautiful way once they get past all of their hang-ups.

The only thing that I was hoping for was more interaction between the four of them. Things for all of them didn't come together until the very end, and I just wanted to see a bit further down the road into their relationship. One thing I wasn't expecting was just how well written this book was. I loved it, and I will definitely be checking out more from this author in the future. Bound with Honor was packed with plenty of steam, conflict, and tension so it is no wonder I couldn't put it down. I read this in one sitting if that tells you how much I loved it. Take a chance, and you might just be surprised how much you like it too!

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*  

For more information about this series or more of Megan's books, please check out her website.


Tough Love (Ultimate #3) by Lori Foster

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

For some reason this new Ultimate series just isn't appealing to me in the same way Foster's books have in the past. I've been trying to pin point the issue for me, and I think it is just that they seem forced and rather farcical. The plots points just don't seem to work in the same ways for me that her other books have, and sadly Tough Love fell into this category for me as well.

Stack is your consummate playboy, and Vanity wants nothing more than to tame him. She hatched a plan to set things up in a way to ease him into a forever relationship. This deception, or really lack of deception and more the regular progression of a relationship, didn't really jive well for me. I know Stack has trust issues and hates lies, but easing him into a relationship wasn't exactly a lie even by omission to me. *shrug* I also think that the conflict with the brother-in-law and ex didn't sit well either. It was almost comical in the way that part of the plot played out, and it was entirely predictable.

On the plus side though, these two definitely had plenty of sexual chemistry and tension going on! I loved that they were fun and almost playful in the bedroom. It made those scenes special, but lordy be if they got interrupted one more time I was about ready to scream myself. Overall, both Stack and Vanity were strong characters, and I liked them immensely. They both brought baggage to the table, but they were endearingly sweet together. I so wanted them to be able to keep the dogs, because they were so cute together with them!!!

I'm not giving up on this series though, and I think aside from my issues with it that you guys will still enjoy reading it. I've been anticipating Armie and Marissa's book for some time now, and the tension between them is KILLING me. I seriously can't wait for all of that to explode!

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

For more information about this series or more of Lori's books, please check out her website.



Amazon  ~ Barnes & Noble

Spiral of Need (The Mercury Pack #1) by Suzanne Wright


✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Spiral of Need was a really great read, guys. It was action packed with plenty of Wright's trademark steam between her Alpha shifters. I did like that she broke away from the pattern that seemed to develop over the course of the Phoenix Pack series, and I'm excited for where this new series is going to go.

I've been looking forward to Derren finding his mate since the last Phoenix Pack book, Dark Instincts, where he was a bit of a turd to Shaya (although she might have deserved a bit of it). I've got to say that Wright made a perfect match for him with Ally despite Derren and his pack's immense hate for Seers. That added a great amount of conflict to their relationship. Both of these characters have an immense amount of baggage, but I liked they also weren't afraid to share those parts of themselves with one another as their relationship progressed. Oh boy, did these two pack a punch with their sexual chemistry and tension, but Derren had this tender side to him that I just adored as much as Ally did. Ally was one kick-ass heroine, just like all of the females are in this series, and

So needless to say, you've got to read this one! Personally, I'd start off with the Phoenix Pack books although I think this could be read as a standalone as well. I just think you get a better feel for all of the characters and the dynamics between them if you start at the beginning. :) Definitely give this one a read though, because I know you'll love it as much as I do.

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Suzanne, please head over to her website. 


  Spiral of Need will be released on September 29, 2015

Amazon  ~  Barnes & Noble