Tuesday, December 13, 2016

A Night of Forever (The Disgraced Lords, #6) by Bronwen Evans

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I've been eagerly anticipating Arend's book, because there has always just been something about his character that has drawn me. He's been the ever dutiful member of the Disgraced Lords as they go through their adventures, but I felt it was about time that he get his own book where everything comes together with our villainess. Arend's hidden depths weren't a surprise to me, but what did surprise me was just how deep they went. He truly is a man who has been formed by the obstacles he's faced, and he's been hiding quite a lot from his friends much to his detriment. Isobel is persistent in her pursuit of his secrets though, so it really was only a matter of time before she cracked that shell of protection he surrounds himself in. Isobel was a deeply admirable character, and I just loved her! She matched Arend's darkness with a light that couldn't be dimmed even in the face of such a wicked step-mother who has set out a path of deception deeper than she even realized. She fought for both herself and Arend when trust is something difficult for both of them, but especially more so for Arend given his past.

Ultimately, A Night of Forever was everything I was expecting and more. It had so much suspense and intrigue, despite us knowing who the villainess was from the previous book, and the passion between these two was undeniable and magnetic. The one thing that did bug me a bit was how this book overlapped filling in the gaps from the previous book, but I get why the author did it this way so it was only a minor annoyance to say the least. Overall though, this book, and this series, have been a wonderfully fun journey and I've loved every moment of it!

Reviewed by Kim

 

I was so excited to read this book. The Disgraced Lords is one of my very favorite series. I was looking forward to Arend's story. I saw him as the most complex of all of the Lords and I wasn't wrong. He is such a good soul but has had to do some terrible things just to survive. I loved the struggles and the victories that he encountered and overcame. Isobel is the perfect companion to the deeply intense Arend, they couldn't have been better for each other. They brought out the many sides to each other and enhanced them tenfold. The intrigue in this series will keep any reader on the edge of their seat.


*We both received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for our honest reviews.* 

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Bronwen, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble
 

Protecting His Own (Masters of the Shadowlands, #11) by Cherise Sinclair

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

This was probably one of the more difficult books I've read on a personal level. I know just how hard it is going through fertility issues and that it's a subject you don't often see addressed in romance. I know, who wants to see a relationship struggle like that, but it's real and honest that not everyone can so easily have children when they choose or not choose. I can actually only think of two other instances where I've seen this addressed, but I digress...

Protecting His Own was heartbreaking at times, no question about that, but it was also uplifting in ways that I've come to expect from Cherise's writing. She always ensures that her characters have the love and support of the other Doms and subs from the Shadowlands, and that despite great adversity that her characters can find a way to make things work for them even if it isn't exactly in the ways they expect. I'm not ashamed to admit that I cried buckets for Beth and Nolan, because I can more than relate to how they feel as far as infertility goes. But, I also cried because I know that Beth has already had to endure so much in her life, and the thought of adding infertility to it physically pained me. I think this is what sets Sinclair apart from other BDSM authors though. Her books are character driven. It isn't so much about the BDSM scenes and the suspense, as it is about the character going through it and the emotions involved. I've seen this series progress into something that is truly wonderful to read, even through the tears, and I admire Cherise's ability to consistently make this series better with each new release. Protecting His Own was another quality installment to this series, and I'm really looking forward to the next book with Uzuri and finally figuring her out.  

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Cherise, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Monday, December 12, 2016

Beyond Surrender (Beyond, #9) by Kit Rocha

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I'm so sad to see this amazing series come to an end, but I'm also thankful that we are getting a spin-off series for Sector 1 so I don't have to totally say goodbye yet. When you find a series as great as this one is, you never want it to end. But things have come full circle for the O'Kanes, so it's time to move into a new Sector. I'm not going to spoil anything for you guys, but so many things happened during Beyond Surrender!!! I found myself laughing, crying, cheering, and truly understanding just what it means to be an O'Kane.

You see, it isn't so simple as people blindly following Dallas as their leader just because he is the leader. He inspires so much more than that. He attracts the strong and supports the weak, and it inspires a kind of loyalty stronger than anything Eden can throw at them...and they are determined to make him fall so they throw a lot at all of them.

There were a few moments in Beyond Surrender that had me ugly crying, it was bad guys, but there were also some moments that were bittersweet and some, much to my delight, that were so pure O'Kane it left me needing to fan myself off because they were just that hot. With so much going on in the Sectors it could be easy for the love story in this book to be overshadowed, but it was incredibly well balanced with love, action, suspense, mystery, and the innate sexuality that surrounds these O'Kanes.

Our heroine, Nessa, has always been in the background throughout the entire series, and she has been just like a little sister to all of the O'Kanes. I was curious, given their lifestyle that extends beyond the bedroom, just how Nessa could fit into that when she found her match in Ryder. Not giving anything away, but I think it worked out perfectly and Ryder was exactly what Nessa needed after being surrounded by strong men all of her life. Ryder has a lot of hidden depths to him that I found vastly appealing. He has been preparing for this war his entire life, so it was interesting and heartwarming when he found himself finding something, or someone, he wanted more than the destruction of Eden. Together these two were a great pairing that balanced one another seamlessly despite all that is going on around them, and I really enjoyed their story.

Overall, this book was everything I expected and so much more. Dallas not only has the loyalty of the Sectors, but he also inspires loyalty in readers, too. The whole O'Kane clan holds a very special place in my heart, and I admire how they all do more than just survive...they live and that is the most important thing you can take away from this series. How to truly embrace life and live it.

O'Kane for Life!

**Note** Do yourself a favor and start from the beginning if you haven't read all of the books yet, because this book is NOT a standalone.


*I received a review copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by the writing duo Kit Rocha, please head over to their website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Monday, November 21, 2016

Twisted Up (Taking Chances #1) by Erin Nicholas

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I've been told time and time again by my fellow bookworms to give Erin Nicholas a try, so when I saw this book I knew it was the right one for me to take the plunge on a new to me author. Nicolas has scores of books under her belt, but she's know for her small town style romances and I have to say I see why now. Twisted Up was such a fun read for me. It was packed with emotion, passion, and a heartwarming feeling you get from the whole cast of characters in this community that has been devastated time and time again by tornadoes. The feeling of optimism in the story was contagious, but it still had just enough balance of negative that made the positives that much sweeter.

Overall, I was impressed with this book and I'm eager to start reading more from Nicolas. I'm really curious about the other two couples mentioned in the story, so I hope their stories soon follow this. I can't say that Chance is ever a town that I would chance living in given their history of tornadoes, but I do admire their spirit in the wake of so much bad luck. They might be onto something when the mention it might be built on an Indian burial ground. I guess they are lucky in a sense that they were ef4's and not ef5's though. Regardless, I'll spend some time visiting Chance but in NO WAY would I want to live there! LOL

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Erin, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

For Love and Country (Brothers in Arms Book 13) by Samantha Kane

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I feel like it's been forever since I had the chance to visit with Samantha Kane's cast of amazing characters in her Brothers in Arms series, but For Love and Country proved to me that it was well worth the wait!  As Sir Barnabas has made appearances throughout the series, I've been curious as to whom Kane could pair with him that would be worthy of such a man and I wasn't disappointed in the least.

Sir Barnabas is in a position of great power, and we all know how that typically goes, but he had so many hidden depths to him. I was glad to see that both Ambrose and Mel could see beyond his gruffness he projected to those around him to the man he really was inside.  Mel tugged at my heart in so many ways given all that she has endured, but I admired her for her strength in how she overcame everything to be a stronger version of herself when so many would have just given up completely. Ambrose, on the other hand, actually took center stage for me in this book. He's a virgin hero, which we don't see often enough in my opinion, and he had this inner core of strength and loyalty to him that I found to be quite admirable. It didn't take but the right people to really bring out his inner beast in the bedroom though, and that was even more delightful! The passion these three share could truly be felt coming off of the pages.

Overall, this book lived up to my expectations and so much more.  It had mystery and intrigue as well as passion, love, and friendship to make it one amazing read you won't want to put down! My only caution is that you might want to read the previous books to really grasp the full picture of the whole cast of characters, but it isn't entirely necessary even though they are truly amazing and worth the time.  For Love and Country definitely ranks as one of my favorite reads this year, so I highly recommend it for any historical lover out there that enjoys love in every capacity.

*I received a review copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Samantha, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Friday, November 11, 2016

A Taste of Seduction (The Disgraced Lords, #5) by Bronwen Evans

 

Reviewed by Tabatha  ✰✰✰✰

This Disgraced Lords series has been so much fun to read, and A Taste of Seduction was no exception! I just absolutely love this cast of characters, not to mention the mystery and intrigue it has going for it, too!

This was a reunion of lovers book, and we all know how I love those, but my only complaint would be that the ending was lacking for me. I know we are leading into the next book with the big reveal in this one, but it still felt a bit lacking there at the end and I wanted it a bit more wrapped up. Also the romance in this one, while sweet and sexy, actually seemed to take a back burner to the story itself. That's not always a bad thing, mind you, but I was surprised by it a bit given the previous books. I think this one just had so much to fit it that it was difficult to expand on the more intimate moments between Hadley and Evangeline more. I felt so incredibly bad for them that they were torn apart so early in life. The lies and deceit by our villainess were grievous indeed, and the more revealed the worse it is because you feel bad for her as well.

Overall, I still love these books. Bronwen Evans is a go-to author for me for historical romance, so you can't ever go wrong with one of her books. My only caution is that you read this series in its entirety, because you'll be lost attempting to read them as stand-alones. So with all that said, yes, you need to read this! lol

Reviewed by Kim  ✰✰✰✰✰

 Every new installment of the Disgraced Lords just gets better and better. My heart broke for Evangeline & Hadley, the trials that they were put through by the lies of those closest to them was so painful to watch. Both of them were so damaged that it seems only right that they would find each other and with a little trust and a lot of love bring warmth and joy back into their lives.

*We received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for our honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Bronwen, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble
 

Saturday, October 1, 2016

Her Halloween Treat (Men at Work #1) by Tiffany Reisz

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Her Halloween Treat was definitely a wicked delight in the best possible way. It was a sweet romance done Tiffany style, so it had a spicy kind of sweet feel to it that made it a pleasure to read.  I seriously can't even remember the last time a book had me laughing so much, but the friendship between Joey and Kira was just too cute for words. What I loved the most about this book though, was just how effortless the romance between these two felt. Yes, Joey resisted having a relationship with Chris given her current circumstances and what she thought she should be doing, but he was patient with her until she came around. I've always enjoyed a good friends-to-lovers story, but this has the added benefit of being a reunion one as well giving it an added bonus.  So all of this combined with impeccable writing, means this is one story you are going to want to read because I loved every moment of it!


*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Tiffany, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Outsider (Exodus End, #2) by Olivia Cunning

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Olivia's books are always some of my favorite reads. No question about it, the woman can write rock star books like no other.  She captured my heart with the Sinners series, and this spin-off with Exodus End hasn't disappointed me in the least. *blissful sigh* Who wouldn't want to revisit the dynamic relationship between these three characters? I mean, Trey is enough to make me want to read this story, but throwing in Reagan and Ethan it packs one heck of a punch.

I will caution that you need to read the previous book. I'll even go further and say that it would be even better if you've read the entire Sinners series as well to fully understand everything going on in Outsider to get the full enjoyment out of it. I couldn't help but love that so many of the previous characters are all present in this story, but that could be confusing to some given the backstory leading into Outsider. 

So in Outsider this sexy trio is faced with being publicly outed in more ways than one. Ethan is still hiding in the closet fearing rejection from his family. Reagan is hiding her sexuality in fear of not only her father's rejection, but also the world not taking her seriously as a musician as well. Then we have Trey. The poor guy is caught up with both of his lovers wanting to hide, and all he wants to do is proclaim to the world that they are both his. It's heartbreaking at times for this trio, and the press situation revolving around them doesn't help when someone close to them seems to have nefarious reasons for outing the trio. 

Overall, this was another great read from Cunning. The only spot I found issue with was that I wanted more resolution where the scandal was concerned. Having read many of Olivia's stories in the past, I'm sure she is building to a big reveal, but I just needed more resolution than I got there at the end. Other than that, this book was a great addition to my favorites list, and I just know you guys are going to love it as much as I did!

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Olivia, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

All the Wrong Places (Bluewater Bay, #14) by Ann Gallagher

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

The reason I will always read books from this author, is because she isn't afraid to step outside the box and I love how she writes what she wants without restraint. All the Wrong Places was another first for me because of this being my first asexual romance.  I've found that wrapping ones head around the concept of being asexual is difficult to say the least, but Ann does it in a way that makes you realize that there is no one specific way to have a relationship. It is more about two people and how they define it in a way that works best for them. I can't say enough how much liked the message there. Both characters in the story worked on building a relationship that was just about them without any preconceived notions about what their relationship should entail. It was a breath of fresh air in the best possible way. So I bet you are asking yourself why I only gave it 3 stars, right?

Well, I'm going to straight up say it wasn't the lack of sex happening, because there was none to be had. I just also didn't feel like it was a romance. Don't get me wrong here, I did enjoy that that these two built a relationship framework about what they wanted, but I still got a strictly friendship vibe from these two more than anything. I just didn't feel any chemistry that lends itself to being romantic beyond friendship. I know it can be there without the sex, but I just didn't feel any romance between these two. So while I enjoyed reading something new to me and the message making me think a bit more about who defines a relationship, I just wanted a bit more than what I got from the characters.

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Ann, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

To Live Again (The Distance Between Us #6) by L.A. Witt

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

To Live Again was one of those books that hit the middle of the road for me. On the one hand, I  loved that this book featured more mature characters with some life experience under their belts, and that their struggles seemed more "real world" based. We are lead to believe, at first, that Greg's divorce was just about two people falling out of love, but there is more to it on both sides of the fence.  Greg's divorce prompts him to explore his bisexuality when he's only ever been with his wife leading into this. On his first night out, he meets Sailo in the most adorkable of ways. The lust between them is instant and obvious, but the slow build of friendship between them is kind of endearing. Sailo is patient with Greg, and I loved how he was more than accommodating as a teacher. Neither guy wants a relationship out of this, but it's quite obvious as the story progresses that they both have feelings for one another. Greg's struggle to move on from his marriage is emotional and just so very real. Being married that long isn't something one just gets over, so I appreciated that element of the story.

But on the other, I regrettably didn't enjoy the conflict at the end of the story at all.  My biggest issue lies with Sailo. He was not only unreasonable, but his actions seemed out of character and out of left-field. It soured everything that had been built between him and Greg and I found the recovery of their relationship to be far too quick. I'm not even going to get into how I feel about the wrong person doing all the groveling at the end.  Suffice to say, it just didn't work for me at the end. Everything leading up to that point was enjoyable though.

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by L.A., please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Don't Tempt Me (Guthrie Brothers #1) by Lori Foster

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I really enjoyed this more gentle side of Lori Foster's writing with Don't Tempt Me. It takes a step away from her Alpha type males, and instead gives us a more "normal" type romance with the focus being on the relationship with a great cast of characters you'll want to read more of. That's kind of been a trademark for Foster, making secondary characters you can't help but want stories for, so I'm glad she is going to continue on with this as a new series.

It was emotional, and I couldn't help but admire Honor for her inner strength, although it does seem to be her weakness as well. Jason, along with his brother, Hogan, and nephew, Colt, overwhelm her with kindness in a way she has never known before, so I found it to be really sweet how she begrudgingly accepts their help in the most awkward ways. The relationship between Honor and Jason is slow to boil, but the intense attraction is there right from the start. It was well-paced and I loved that it wasn't rushed. Now Lexie's relationship with Sullivan goes at warp speed, so you kind of get the best of both worlds in this book. Overall, Don't Tempt Me just had a feel-good feeling to it. It was written well and I loved the sense of true friendship, family, and trust that was woven throughout it. It's a must-read for all you Foster fans out there!

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Lori, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

The Heart As He Hears It (Perspectives #3) by A.M. Arthur

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

This is my first read of A.M. Arthur's Perspectives series, and I'm happy to report that you don't have to read the previous ones to enjoy The Heart As He Hearts It. This made me one happy camper, because the blurb for this one definitely drew me in.  It was an emotional read that was not only endearing, but suspenseful at times as well. Now I must admit that those suspense elements didn't work for me, and they almost seemed out of place adding an unnecessary dramatic element to the story. I honestly believe they could have been left out entirely and we wouldn't miss them.

Despite that though, it was a well-written book with a compelling cast of characters and I truly adored both Jon and Isaac. Now, at first, I didn't believe it was going to work out between them given both of their immense amounts of issues, but friendship seemed to pave a way to help these two find a way to make it all work out.  I laughed, I cried, and I simply just enjoyed this book. I think I'm going to have to go back and read the previous two books in the series while I'm waiting for the next book.   

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by A.M., please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Under the Surface (Alpha Ops, #4) by Anne Calhoun

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Talk about some chemistry! Right from the start, you can feel the chemistry between Matt (aka Chad) and Eve heating up the pages of this book. I've got to say that is one thing I've always loved about Anne Calhoun. She does sexual tension like no other, but I think even she kicked it up a notch in Under the Surface making it an absolute pleasure to read.

Matt is undercover trying to get to the bottom of what is going on at Eve's club as well as being there to protect her. He'll do whatever the job takes, even if it means seducing the club owner. He doesn't expect things to go as far as they do, and suddenly the threat becomes even more real when someone makes an attempt on Eve's life.

Under the Surface is a sexy, suspenseful, and oh so steamy book that is going to keep you on your toes with all of its twists and turns. Some were expected, but then others totally threw me. The characters are complex and well developed, and the plot was original and engaging. Overall, I think this was a great read, so I'm definitely going to have to go back and read the other books in this series. This one gets my seal of approval for sure, so give it a read!

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Anne, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Cream of the Crop (Hudson Valley #2) by Alice Clayton

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

First of all, can I just get an amen for a size 18 gal who owns it and loves who she is? This was a breath of fresh air in the best possible way. So often when you have a plus size character, they have insecurities about who they are and things they want to change. That isn't the case for this Manhattan girl. She is sexy and she knows it, and she carries her head held high no matter the situation. So needless to say, this story started out on a huge high note for me and I could only hope to have that level of confidence one day myself.

Now as I've come to expect from Alice Clayton, this was an adorable romantic comedy filled with witty humor and the perfect level of romance and steam. My only wish was that we got to know our hero a bit more. We didn't get anything from his perspective until the epilogue, and by that point it was too little too late. Oscar just didn't seem likeable at all. He barely speaks and instead the whole focus is on their physical relationship and glosses over the chances for us to get to know him better, especially where their relationship was concerned. We see his care and concern for his ex, but I felt at the end he belonged with her more than Nat. *shrug*

Despite my issues with Oscar, Natalie was the star of this book and she is the reason I loved it so much. It reminded me a bit of Sex and the City, but in a more adorable way. It was so much fun to read, so I can't recommend it highly enough for you guys.  

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Alice, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Now That It's You by Tawna Fenske

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

This may only be my second read from this author, but Tawna Fenske is quickly becoming one of my favorite go-to authors for romantic comedy. She did an amazing job with Now That It's You. It was a very well balanced book with so much emotion, light-hearted romance, and witty humor that I couldn't put down. This is one of those types of books you can pick up when you are in a funk and have no problem coming right out of it. I was a bit iffy on the whole her dating her dead ex-fiance's brother at first, but in all honesty she should have been dating him from the start. The relationship between the two of them may seem odd at first, but as you read you quickly discover that they were always a perfect match.  My one big issue that dropped this a whole star for me, was that I didn't feel we got to know Kyle very well on a personal level like we do Meg. I just wanted to get to know him better and I was left hanging there. I also didn't love the cover for this one, but I never discount a book based on a cover anyhow.  So other than the issue with not getting to know Kyle well enough, I really did enjoy reading every moment of this book and I do highly recommend it. Fenske is quite talented with romantic comedy and is definitely an author worth reading.  

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Tawna, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Sunday, June 26, 2016

Just a Girl by Ellie Cahill

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I've got to admit, this was a fun read. Not only did I love both of the characters, but I loved the overall quirky charm that this story had. The only thing that I found I didn't enjoy was the formatting, and I'm chalking that up to this being an ARC. The text conversations were the worst part of that formatting issue making them difficult to read, but I think it was the Twitter posts that annoyed me the most. It really dates a book including that or other social media sites, but that's just my opinion. Maybe the author didn't want a timeless story. *shrug* What I did like and found to be unique, was the playlists. I always adore when an author does that, and Presley had excellent taste in music if I do say so myself.

So her relationship with Paul comes fast on the heels of her departure from her previous boyfriend/band, but I think the author did a great job with the transition to make it believable. I kind of wish her old band mates made another appearance in the book to see how happy and how well she meshed with her new band, but I can't have it all, right? lol Anyhoo, these two have amazing chemistry and a connection that totally works for me. I also loved her relationship with her parents and the musicians that pop into the story. The book really had a great cast of secondary characters that made the story all the better. Between the music, sexiness, and characters, Just a Girl was a wonderful read. I can't wait to read more from this author in the future.

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Ellie, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Wrapped and Strapped (Blacktop Cowboys, #7) by Lorelei James

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I'm a huge LJ fan and I've really enjoyed the Blacktop series up to this point. Unfortunately, I get the feeling it's all coming to an end from the feel of this story. But that's not why I rated it 3 stars. From the start, I just couldn't connect with these two, because Hugh and Harlow seem like the most mismatched pair I've ever read from LJ.

Harlow's past is very dark, and I found parts very difficult for me to read. I guess anyone can find themselves in that sort of situation, but it just didn't seem to jive well with her character to be that passive in my honest opinion. On the flip side, I admired her spirit and how she gave herself so selflessly to help others in need and her stance on how she chose to help those in need without political or religious agenda. But I hated how everyone, especially her own sister, seemed to judge her without ever really knowing her. She deserved better than that.

As for Hugh...well I'm sad to say liked him least of all. And I do mean all...as in every LJ hero I've read. He's a far cry from an Alpha male, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but he seemed to let everyone walk all over him and he was a total tool to Harlow. I don't know if I could be as forgiving for what he did to Harlow that summer, and I didn't want him to end up with her.

Overall, I was just disappointed by this one, so maybe it is for the best that things seem to feel like they are rolling to a close with this series. I don't know if that's true or not, but I will read any subsequent release for this series because I love LJ's books that much. I don't think everyone will feel same as me, but there's always going to be one in a series that doesn't live up to expectations and I think that was the case with this one for me.

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Lorelei, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble


Friday, June 17, 2016

Undecided by Julianna Keyes

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Let me first say that I straight up never wanted this book to end. I was totally absorbed by the characters, and I was enjoying reading it so much I was kind of sad when it ended! It had the same feel as Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, but I think this one stands out all on its own. It had a great plot, compelling characters, and it was sweet and sexy all at the same time. Now the title and cover lends itself to thinking that this story is going to be some kind of love triangle or maybe even a menage story, but don't be alarmed because it's definitely not...this was totally misleading. I Now there might be a little interest there with the other guy, but that's about as far as that goes. Nora may be Undecided about her life, but beyond that there is no big decision between the two guys. So with all that being said, I really think they should have rethought the cover and title in my honest opinion.

Let's talk about the story itself. Nora spent her first year of college embracing all that the college life had to offer, but she has to straighten up in her second year or she may lose her scholarship. She's determined to turn over a new leaf, but life has other plans for her. Now enter the bad boy she never dreamed of dating, and a roommate she just happened to sleep with but thankfully he doesn't even remember it. And they are best friends. This makes for plenty of drama and fun times to be had. Crosbie (what a name choice that was and the only other negative I found) is the ultimate bad boy with so much hidden depth. He's a true romantic at heart, and I just couldn't get enough of him. The roommate on the other hand, he's a total man whore and I didn't find much appealing about him.

Overall, besides the title, cover, and name of the hero not being my faves, I still think this was a great read. I'm definitely going to pick up more books from this author in the future.

*A review copy was provided by the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Julianna, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Trained for Seduction (Spy Games, #1) by Mia Downing

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

 Trained for Seduction was one heck of a fun ride. It was sexy, suspenseful, and just an all around fun book to read. I've read a few of Mia's books in the past, but this one is my favorite so far. The only thing I wanted more of was maybe some action between Chase and Jake, but that SO isn't going to happen much to my dismay. The attraction is there, but I think Chase's issues with his Uncle will keep that from ever coming to fruition.

Anyhoo, so the story is about Kate (Emma) who is leading a new life, and the guy she thought was a distant memory turns out to now be her boss. What started out as a one-weekend deal to take care of business, develops into so much more than either of them were expecting...and it's hot...oh so very hot! Throw in a bit of action and suspense on top of that, and you have the makings of an awesome read in my humble opinion. Now I can't wait to dive into the next book, because I'm betting more steamy, sexy, and suspenseful times are to come. I'm also interested to see who can tame wild boy Jake.

*A review copy was provided by the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Mia, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble


Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Maybe Matt's Miracle (The Reed Brothers #4) by Tammy Falkner

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

I must admit that I've been putting off reading this one simply knew it was going to be a difficult one for me to read. Not in a bad way, mind you, but in an overwhelmed with emotion type of way. It talks about trigger subjects for me, so I had to proceed with caution. I've read the books leading up to this one, and I'm going to tell you that Matt holds a special place in my heart. His story is a roller coaster of emotions. One minute you'll find it super sweet and sexy, and then next you'll have tears running down your face needing a tissue. But it was an excellent addition to the Reed Brothers series. I think that Tammy picked the perfect heroine to pair with Matt in Sky. She was strong and independent, but yet she still had this tender vulnerability about her that really worked well with Matt's romantic side. My only complaint is that I felt their romance went at warp speed. Even if Matt likes to live his life to the fullest, it was still a bit too fast to believe even in fiction. Other than that and my fits of crying, this book was truly an amazing read. I have loved this series from the first moment I started reading it, so I'm quite eager to move onto the next brother. I'm soooo ready for Paul's book I can hardly stand it!

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Tammy, please head over to her website.

 

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Shared for Love (Kagan Wolves #2) by Nancy Corrigan

✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

Let me first start by saying that I definitely encourage you to read the previous two books prior to starting Shared for Love. I just think you'll understand what is going on in the story more if you have the full picture. I know I was glad that I did, and while I enjoyed the novella and the first book to this series, I must admit that I was rather underwhelmed by this second installment to the story. For starters, I didn't like the separation between the characters and the overall story just felt very forced to me. It also wasn't a true menage story in my opinion, and instead was a case where the guys just take turns with her instead. This aspect might work for those who don't enjoy menage or just stepping your toes into reading that sub genre. I was kind of hoping it wouldn't be that way, but sadly I expected it given how their wolves behave. It was still an exciting story with a conclusion to events that started in the first book, so I was very pleased with that aspect. I think it boiled down to my expectations being a bit too high going in, because I might have otherwise just loved this book. I'm still going to continue on with the series when the next book comes out, because I'm dying to find out what happens next.

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Nancy, please head over to her website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Undeniable (Always #3) by Cherie M. Hudson

✰✰✰✰✰

Reviewed by Tabatha

So would you choose the cookie or the apple?

That's the choice Chase is facing. But I think to fully understand her in this story, you really need to read the previous book in this series. Chase is just a complicated character, so I think it best to get a full understanding of her. Beneath all her bluster she is very insecure and in desperate need for affection. This is a direct result of her lackluster relationship with her father. He may love her, but he has this inability to express it in a healthy way. Unfortunately, this is what ultimately led her to Donald (which was an unhealthy pseudo relationship that never should have happened in the first place). Now she is faced with a choice of choosing what is good for her, Caden being the apple, or what is bad for her, Donald being the cookie.

I'd like to think her choice was quite simple. But matters of the heart never are, and Chase took a bit of time to get things figured out. Add in her struggle with her disability when it comes to relationships, and this makes for an even more difficult situation. I was cheering for Caden the entire time, because who wouldn't cheer for a guy that makes awesome sock puppets for those he loves? (I want that Ant Man one!) He's just a genuinely good guy, so it was hard to see why Chase had such an issue giving in to her feelings for him. But I promise that by the end of the story you will understand though, and I'm glad things ended the way they did. Overall, I really enjoyed reading this story. Both characters had their flaws and they overcame them in the most adorable ways. This entire series has tugged at my heart in ways that are hard to explain, but I cannot recommend it highly enough.

*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.* 

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Cherie, please head over to their website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble



Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Beyond Ecstasy (Beyond, #8) by Kit Rocha

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

The wait is over for so many different reasons in Beyond Ecstasy. Eden is simmering and waiting to explode into the sectors as their resources start to dwindle, and the sectors are preparing for the all-out war against them. It's going to be a war waged in many different areas of combat, and who will come out on top is going to be anyone's guess. But just between us, I'm going to always place my bet on Dallas. *winks*

In the meantime, we finally get a story for Hawk and Jeni. I've been eagerly awaiting these two to finally get together, and I'm telling you it was nothing short of spectacular! If you haven't read the rest of the series, you may think their relationship happened at warp speed. But alas, these two have been circling one another for months now. Really ever since Hawk showed up with Finn and Trix. Coming from the farms in Sector 6, Hawk has always relied on himself to keep those he loves safe and secure, but the O'kane's are teaching him that he can rely on someone else to have his back as well. It's a hard lesson for him, but it also allows him to finally bridge the gap that has kept him away from Jeni. The impending war speeds up aspects of their relationship a bit faster than they would normally take things, but the chemistry between these two is intense. They are absolute dynamite in the bedroom, and so much so I thought my e-reader was going to go up in flames! But I also think that their relationship is so much more than that too. They bring out a side of one another that they don't allow anyone else to see, and I think that's what makes them so special.

Overall, Beyond Ecstasy was a thrilling ride that I never wanted to get off of from page one. It was packed with all of the same characteristics I've come to love about this series, friendship, loyalty, and love, but it also had so much more. With each new release, I'm serious when I say that this series just keeps getting better. And although I'm sad we only have one more book left after this, I know the spin-off series of Gideon's Riders is going to be just as epic and maybe we can revisit a few of our favorite Sector 4 characters in those. I can only hope!

*I received a review copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by the team that is Kit, please head over to their website.

 


Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Monday, May 9, 2016

Healing Love (Love to the Extreme #4) by Abby Niles

✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

The one thing I love most about this series is that although they are MMA books, that isn't the central focus of the story. So often it is all about the fighting and very little about the characters and what's driving them. Abby Niles seamlessly blends both aspects into a story that is thrilling yet steamy all at the same time.

Healing love was quite a pleasure to read. I think that both Lance and Ella (aka Kelsey) were well developed characters, and the plot was definitely engaging. I felt like I really got to know the characters well in the book, which is always appealing, so I was definitely invested in how their relationship was going to work out in the end. I admired both characters for their strength and convictions. They both had a lot to learn as far as leaning on someone to help, but I think in the end they were able to heal enough to come together in a believable way. I've really enjoyed reading this series, and I look forward to reading more from it in the future. I'm giving it two thumbs-up, so definitely give it a read.

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Abby, please head over to her website.

 



The Undoing (Call of Crows, #2) by Shelly Laurenston

✰✰✰✰✰

 

Reviewed by Tabatha

 

*Warning* I'm a big of a fan when it comes to this author. She is brilliant and I can't get enough of her writing. She is one of my top-five authors for paranormal romance, so I'm always eager to read what she has for us.

That being said, seriously this was another home-run for Laurenston! I swear I have never laughed as much at any other book I've read as I do when I am reading her books. You just can't help but love her quirky cast of characters and laugh out loud at them. She has this unique ability to write books that not only have engaging plots, but characters you just cannot get enough of. But I think the Undoing is going to go down as one of my favorites though. It was such a blast to read! I'm telling you guys, it was just fantastic. It had all of the elements of a paranormal romance that make them interesting. Not only are the characters great, but the plot alone would have kept me going with this one. It was fun, sexy, and suspenseful, so I just loved every moment of it. You MUST give this series a try if you love paranormal romance.

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Shelly, please head over to her website.

 


Indigo Nights (Nights, #3) by Louise Bay

✰✰✰

Reviewed by Tabatha

"Cake and orgasams-life doesn't get much better than that."

I've been processing how I wanted to go about my review for this one for awhile now. It wasn't because it was a bad read, far from it actually, it was just that I felt kind of ambivalent about it really. I liked it, but I had some issues with it as well that were minor so I didn't know how I was going to go about explaining myself. LOL

We have a dynamic male lead and a interesting enough female lead, but I wanted to see a bit more development with them beyond just the sex. I felt like so much of the time they spend together was having sex, that not much relationship building went on between them. I noticed several opportunities that were there, but sadly they were missed. In the end, I felt that these two actually knew very little about one another to fall in more than lust with one another in my honest opinion.

Now on the flip side of that, the sexy times were indeed page turners for me, and I found myself needing to fan myself off it was so hot. Louise just has a way of writing fantastic love scenes where you can actually feel the heat coming off of the pages. The story itself was intriguing, and I really did enjoy it overall. It was a tad on the predictable side, but I chalk that up to just how much I read these days. It's hard for me to be surprised anymore.  I do look forward to reading more from Louise in the future though. I think she has a great voice and she writes compelling story lines that definitely keep a reader engaged. Given that, I'd definitely suggest this one guys. I think you'll enjoy it.

*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*

If you'd like to check out more about this or other books by Louise, please head over to her website.